26. 06. 2020

To the one who will never be mine,
My granny says “Greatest lovers are those who can watch their love rest her head on someone else’s chest and smile.” You tell me how there’s someone special in your life, who can make you smile just with his voice, from miles away.
Should I be happy because you’re smiling with him, or should I be sad for I know my heart will break again? I know things will change. I know, I tried all I could. I tried to be that perfect version of myself.
You know, I won’t lie, there were moments when I thought there was something between us. Moments when we’d be sipping on beer and eating pizza straight out of the boxes. In those moments, you’d look at me and smile. And trust me, what is there in this world that I wouldn’t do for that smile?
I’ve tried telling myself, a million times maybe, to not fall for you. I have told myself that you cannot love me the way I want you to. I know loving you is like taking a wrong road and hoping it goes to the right destination.
But that’s how love happens, you know? It’s like a foggy breath, puffing out from your mouth, on a winter morning. You just can’t help it.
I don’t know how will this look on a piece of paper but anyway I’ll put it here, just because we can’t touch the moon doesn’t mean we shouldn’t stop dreaming about it.
I don’t know if I’ll ever be brave enough to love someone again or not. But, there’s a foggy windowpane, somewhere in my heart, that has your smile drawn on it. I won’t erase it.
I wish you a good life. Keep smiling.
From,
Someone who will keep you alive in his poems.

Leave a comment